Baptism is a Sacrament of Initiation into the Catholic Community

As part of Baptism preparation, parents of infants under the age of 7 participate in a workshop to reflect on their own faith journey. A person needs to celebrate the Sacrament of Baptism before preparing for First Eucharist, First Reconciliation and Confirmation.

  • Baptism workshops are offered from 9:00 – 11:00 a.m. on Saturday mornings for those who wish to have their child baptized into the Catholic faith. Childcare is available with advance notice.
  • Attendance is required for all parents interested in this sacrament for their child.
  • Participants dig deeper into the rich history and meaning of baptism, the symbols we use, and the responsibilities after reception of the sacrament.
  • Baptisms will be celebrated during Masses in October 15-16, 2016, January 7-8, 2017 and April 29-30,2017.

2016/2017 Baptism Workshops schedule:

  • Saturday, September 10
  • Saturday, October 8
  • Saturday, November 12
  • Saturday, December 10
  • Saturday, January 14
  • Saturday, February 11
  • Saturday, March 11
  • Saturday, April 8
  • Saturday, May 13
  • Saturday, June 10

Children’s Catechumenate

The Children’s Catechumenate process is available for any child (including his/her family) who has reached the age of 7 and has not been Baptized. In this process, children grow in God’s love, hear the Word of God, nurture a relationship with the faith community, and experience the basics of our faith which lead to being a disciple of Christ.

The process begins with Inquiry sessions on Monday evenings and then moves into Sunday mornings for Faith Formation. Initiation into the Church is celebrated during the Easter Vigil.